Signs and Seasons, Days and Years

Home » Prayer » May Your purposes in me be fully accomplished

May Your purposes in me be fully accomplished

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 420 other followers

Follow Signs and Seasons, Days and Years on WordPress.com

Lord, I’m not sure that this is the *right* thing to say; that my friends would understand; or that anyone at all would feel the same way – but this is where I found my heart resting this morning.

Holy Father, I’m deeply grateful for all You’ve done, to pave the way, that I might be saved. That I may be delivered from sin and from this world, and ultimately to dwell with You forever.

But Father, please – please don’t just take me home.

Not that I don’t long to see You in Your glory. Not that I don’t long to be delivered from the wickedness and injustice of this world. But Father, if there’s anybody who’s been left out – anybody who could have joined us in receiving your gracious deliverance – anybody who *should* have joined us – but because of things I’ve done or failed to do, they didn’t quite make it…

Holy Father, I cannot rejoice in Your presence under the weight of this possibility. Please Lord, please – don’t bring me home, until every last one of your lost sheep has been brought into the fold. Or at least until my part is fully accomplished – using all that you’ve placed in my hands, for the purposes for which you intended these things, in the name of Your Kingdom.

Leave a Reply

