Signs and Seasons, Days and Years

Home » Reflections » Anxiety – my call to prayer

Anxiety – my call to prayer

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 420 other followers

Follow Signs and Seasons, Days and Years on WordPress.com

ripples-in-water

Philippians 4:6
‘Do not be anxious about anything, but in every situation, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, present your requests to God.’

“Do not be anxious”

So… if today I’m feeling anxiety about the situations I’m in, about the hardships I’m dealing with – is this verse pointing a finger at me? Saying “You’re a bad person – cut that out!?”

No. That’s our enemy’s strategy, to come after us accusing us, hoping to bring us down and disable our work for the Lord by his condemnation. When we hear this condemnation, it’s not our Father’s voice.

What He says to us in this verse is, “That anxiety you’re feeling – let that be your call to prayer. Come away with me. Rest in me. Let me take those burdens you’re feeling and lift them from your shoulders. Rest in me. Learn from me. Because my yoke is easy. My burden is light.

Matthew 11:28-30
“Come to me, all you who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest. Take my yoke upon you and learn from me, for I am gentle and humble in heart, and you will find rest for your souls. For my yoke is easy and my burden is light.”

1 Comment

Leave a Reply

