Signs and Seasons, Days and Years

Home » Reflections » So David inquired of the LORD…

So David inquired of the LORD…

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 420 other followers

Follow Signs and Seasons, Days and Years on WordPress.com

ripples-in-water

Once more the Philistines came up and spread out in the Valley of Rephaim; so David inquired of the LORD, and he answered, “Do not go straight up, but circle around behind them and attack them in front of the balsam trees. As soon as you hear the sound of marching in the tops of the balsam trees, move quickly, because that will mean the LORD has gone out in front of you to strike the Philistine army.” So David did as the LORD commanded him, and he struck down the Philistines all the way from Gibeon to Gezer. 
2 Samuel 5:22-25

What made David successful as king and military leader of Israel? It was his relationship with God. His ability to hear from the Lord, and His willingness always to wait in submission to the Lord’s command – not relying on his own intellect to choose a battle plan for himself and for his men, but patiently waiting to move precisely when the Lord said to move. It was this that gave him access to help from unseen resources that his enemies knew nothing about.

Can we know God this deeply? Or was this a special thing reserved for special people like David? I believe God actually desires this kind of relationship with every one of us – with all who will choose to seek Him as David did.

2 Chronicles 15:2
The LORD is with you when you are with him. If you seek him, he will be found by you, but if you forsake him, he will forsake you.

Proverbs 8:17
I love those who love me, and those who seek me find me.

Jeremiah 29:13
You will seek me and find me when you seek me with all your heart.

Psalm 119:9-11
How can a young man keep his way pure? By living according to your word. I seek you with all my heart; do not let me stray from your commands. I have hidden your word in my heart that I might not sin against you.

Psalm 91:14-15
“Because he loves me,” says the LORD, “I will rescue him; I will protect him, for he acknowledges my name. He will call upon me, and I will answer him; I will be with him in trouble, I will deliver him and honor him.

Jeremiah 33:3
Call to me and I will answer you, and tell you great and unsearchable things you do not know.

Isaiah 40:18
To whom, then, will you compare God? What image will you compare him to?

Isaiah 40:21-24
Do you not know? Have you not heard? Has it not been told you from the beginning? Have you not understood since the earth was founded? He sits enthroned above the circle of the earth, and its people are like grasshoppers. He stretches out the heavens like a canopy, and spreads them out like a tent to live in. He brings princes to naught and reduces the rulers of this world to nothing. No sooner are they planted, no sooner are they sown, no sooner do they take root in the ground, than he blows on them and they wither, and a whirlwind sweeps them away like chaff.

Isaiah 40:25-26
“To whom will you compare me? Or who is my equal?” says the Holy One. Lift your eyes and look to the heavens: Who created all these? He who brings out the starry host one by one, and calls them each by name. Because of his great power and mighty strength, not one of them is missing.

Isaiah 40:28-31
Do you not know? Have you not heard? The LORD is the everlasting God, the Creator of the ends of the earth. He will not grow tired or weary, and his understanding no one can fathom. He gives strength to the weary and increases the power of the weak. Even youths grow tired and weary, and young men stumble and fall; but those who hope in the LORD will renew their strength. They will soar on wings like eagles; they will run and not grow weary, they will walk and not be faint.

 

Leave a Reply

