Signs and Seasons, Days and Years

Home » Israel » Wait for me

Wait for me

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 420 other followers

Follow Signs and Seasons, Days and Years on WordPress.com

Oct 13, 2015

Wait For Me – click on this to see a pdf of the song

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vx21jTItWXQ – click on this to hear it.

A new song that the Lord put on my heart last Saturday morning. Friday evening before I went to bed it was just the phrase “Wait for me,” in response to a question I was pondering. This led me to Zephaniah 3:8, along with several other passages which give it some needed context:

Isaiah 8:13-15
The LORD Almighty is the one you are to regard as holy,
he is the one you are to fear,
he is the one you are to dread,
and he will be a sanctuary;
but for both houses of Israel he will be
a stone that causes men to stumble
and a rock that makes them fall.
And for the people of Jerusalem he will be
a trap and a snare.

Many of them will stumble;
they will fall and be broken,
they will be snared and captured.”
Bind up the testimony
and seal up the law among my disciples.
I will wait for the LORD,
who is hiding his face from the house of Jacob.
I will put my trust in him.

Micah 7:7-9
But as for me, I watch in hope for the LORD,
I wait for God my Savior;
my God will hear me.
Though I have fallen, I will rise.
Though I sit in darkness,
the LORD will be my light.
Because I have sinned against him,
I will bear the LORD’s wrath,
until he pleads my case
and establishes my right.
He will bring me out into the light;
I will see his righteousness.

Micah 7:18-20
Who is a God like you,
who pardons sin and forgives the transgression
of the remnant of his inheritance?
You do not stay angry forever
but delight to show mercy.
You will again have compassion on us;
you will tread our sins underfoot
and hurl all our iniquities into the depths of the sea.
You will be true to Jacob,
and show mercy to Abraham,
as you pledged on oath to our fathers
in days long ago.

Zephaniah 3:8
Therefore wait for me,” declares the LORD,
for the day I will stand up to testify.
I have decided to assemble the nations,
to gather the kingdoms
and to pour out my wrath on them—
all my fierce anger.

Zephaniah 3:14-15
Sing, O Daughter of Zion;
shout aloud, O Israel!
Be glad and rejoice with all your heart,
O Daughter of Jerusalem!
The LORD has taken away your punishment,
he has turned back your enemy.
The LORD, the King of Israel, is with you;
never again will you fear any harm.

Zephaniah 3:16-17
On that day they will say to Jerusalem,
“Do not fear, O Zion;
do not let your hands hang limp.
The LORD your God is with you,
he is mighty to save.
He will take great delight in you,
he will quiet you with his love,
he will rejoice over you with singing.”

Micah 5:4
He will stand and shepherd his flock
in the strength of the LORD,
in the majesty of the name of the LORD his God.
And they will live securely, for then his greatness
will reach to the ends of the earth.
And he will be their peace.

Apologies for the imperfections of the singing and recording. This is meant more to enable you to sing it and connect with the message, than to highlight the singing of some guy in the central US that you’ve never met.

Lyrics:
(from Zephaniah 3 & Micah 7)

Wait for me, and you’ll see my awesome glory.
Wait for me, and you’ll see my mighty hand.
Wait for me, for the day that I’ll defend you,
for the day that I’ll claim you as mine.

Wait for me, and you’ll see my awesome glory.
Wait for me, and you’ll see my mighty hand.
Wait for me, for the day that I’ll defend you,
for the day that I’ll claim you as mine.

Though now you sit in darkness, I will be your light.
And though you’ve sinned against me, I will pay the price.
Though you have fallen – yet you will rise;
In compassion I will come to you,
I will take away your sin,
I will hurl all your iniquities
into the depths; the depths of the sea!

Sing for joy, O Daughter of Zion!
Sing for joy, and shout O Israel!
Sing for joy, O Daughter of Zion,
O Daughter of Jerusalem!

Sing for joy, O Daughter of Zion!
Sing for joy, and shout O Israel!
Sing for joy, O Daughter of Zion,
O Daughter of Jerusalem!

Leave a Reply

