Signs and Seasons, Days and Years

Home » Reflections » Treasure in jars of clay

Treasure in jars of clay

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 420 other followers

Follow Signs and Seasons, Days and Years on WordPress.com

Apr 19, 2015

ripples-in-water

To be thrown back onto the potter’s wheel;
To be reshaped, reworked,
Re-formed into a more suitable vessel –
It’s not a comfortable thing for a lump of clay.

When I try to resist His hand,
He feels those lumps and imperfections,
And knows just exactly what’s needed
To work out each one.

He works me and shapes me,
Gradually, gently, smoothing out the lumps,
To form the kind of vessel that He meant me to be;
Able to faithfully hold all that He’s made me to carry;
To serve every purpose that He has ordained.

To be worked and shaped like this –
It isn’t a comfortable thing for the clay;
But yet there’s nothing I desire more,
Than that all these things be fully accomplished,
Exactly as He has decreed,

According to the perfect plan
Of the One; the only One,
Whose wisdom flows deeper than the sea,
and who sees the end from the beginning;
Whose might reaches higher than the heavens,
promising to complete all that He’s begun;

And who loves me.
Who – as unlikely as it seems,
Despite all my sin and failures;
Not trusting, not listening,
Not recognizing His presence with me,
As I try to rest in what I can do for myself,
Rather than in His everlasting strength;

Who, despite all these things,
Loves me,
And patiently works with me,
To remove every last lump –
That on that day,
Kneeling before His throne,
Bathed in the radiance of His glory,
I may be presented before Him whole and complete.

Jeremiah 18:1-6
This is the word that came to Jeremiah from the LORD: “Go down to the potter’s house, and there I will give you my message.” So I went down to the potter’s house, and I saw him working at the wheel. But the pot he was shaping from the clay was marred in his hands; so the potter formed it into another pot, shaping it as seemed best to him. Then the word of the LORD came to me: “O house of Israel, can I not do with you as this potter does?” declares the LORD. “Like clay in the hand of the potter, so are you in my hand, O house of Israel.

Isaiah 63:7-9
No one calls on your name or strives to lay hold of you; for you have hidden your face from us and made us waste away because of our sins. Yet, O LORD, you are our Father. We are the clay, you are the potter; we are all the work of your hand. Do not be angry beyond measure, O LORD; do not remember our sins forever. Oh, look upon us, we pray, for we are all your people.

Isaiah 45:9
“Woe to him who quarrels with his Maker, to him who is but a potsherd among the potsherds on the ground. Does the clay say to the potter, ‘What are you making?’

Romans 9:20-21
“Shall what is formed say to him who formed it, ‘Why did you make me like this?’ ” Does not the potter have the right to make out of the same lump of clay some pottery for noble purposes and some for common use?

2 Corinthians 4:6-7
“God has made his light shine in our hearts… But we have this treasure in jars of clay to show that this all-surpassing power is from God and not from us.”

Proverbs 2:1-5
My son, if you accept my words and store up my commands within you, turning your ear to wisdom and applying your heart to understanding, and if you call out for insight and cry aloud for understanding, and if you look for it as for silver and search for it as for hidden treasure, then you will understand the fear of the LORD and find the knowledge of God.

Isaiah 33:2,5-6
O LORD, be gracious to us; we long for you. Be our strength every morning, our salvation in time of distress… The LORD is exalted, for he dwells on high; he will fill Zion with justice and righteousness. He will be the sure foundation for your times, a rich store of salvation and wisdom and knowledge; the fear of the LORD is the key to this treasure.

Matthew 13:44
“The kingdom of heaven is like treasure hidden in a field. When a man found it, he hid it again, and then in his joy went and sold all he had and bought that field.

Philippians 1:3-6
“I thank my God every time I remember you. In all my prayers for all of you, I always pray with joy because of your partnership in the gospel from the first day until now, being confident of this, that he who began a good work in you will carry it on to completion until the day of Christ Jesus.”

1 Corinthians 15:58
“Therefore, my dear brothers, stand firm. Let nothing move you. Always give yourselves fully to the work of the Lord, because you know that your labor in the Lord is not in vain.” 

Leave a Reply

