Signs and Seasons, Days and Years

Home » Reflections » Call to me and I will answer you

Call to me and I will answer you

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 420 other followers

Follow Signs and Seasons, Days and Years on WordPress.com

Mar 31, 2015

ripples-in-water

Jeremiah 33:3
‘Call to me and I will answer you and tell you great and unsearchable things you do not know.’

 

I was there for you, waiting for your call.
Why didn’t you come?
I was there, ready to direct your path;
To protect you from those dangers that you don’t understand,
And can never see with your own eyes.

But you didn’t come.
You didn’t ask.
You preferred to rest on your own faulty wisdom,
Rejecting the fountain of life that I had provided for you,
Preferring to draw from the broken cisterns you’ve built for yourselves –
Which provide you with nothing.

 

Jeremiah 2:13
“My people have committed two sins:
They have forsaken me,
the spring of living water,
and have dug their own cisterns,
broken cisterns that cannot hold water.

Jeremiah 2:5
“What fault did your fathers find in me,
that they strayed so far from me?

Jeremiah 2:6-7
They did not ask, ‘Where is the LORD,

who brought us up out of Egypt
and led us through the barren wilderness,
through a land of deserts and rifts,
a land of drought and darkness, 
a land where no one travels and no one lives,
into a fertile land
to eat its fruit and rich produce?’

Jeremiah 2:8
The priests did not ask,
‘Where is the LORD?’
Those who deal with the law did not know me;
the leaders rebelled against me.

Jeremiah 7:28
‘This is the nation that has not obeyed the LORD its God or responded to correction. Truth has perished; it has vanished from their lips.

Jeremiah 7:18-19
They knead the dough and make cakes of bread for the Queen of Heaven. They pour out drink offerings to other gods to provoke me to anger. But am I the one they are provoking? declares the LORD. Are they not rather harming themselves, to their own shame?

Jeremiah 7:9-11
“ ‘Will you steal and murder, commit adultery and perjury, burn incense to Baal and follow other gods you have not known, and then come and stand before me in this house, which bears my Name, and say, “We are safe”—safe to do all these detestable things? Has this house, which bears my Name, become a den of robbers to you? But I have been watching! declares the LORD.

Jeremiah 7:12-15
“ ‘Go now to the place in Shiloh where I first made a dwelling for my Name, and see what I did to it because of the wickedness of my people Israel. While you were doing all these things, declares the LORD, I spoke to you again and again, but you did not listen; I called you, but you did not answer. Therefore, what I did to Shiloh I will now do to the house that bears my Name, the temple you trust in, the place I gave to you and your fathers. I will thrust you from my presence, just as I did all your brothers, the people of Ephraim.’

Jeremiah 2:15
Lions have roared;
they have growled at him.
They have laid waste his land;
his towns are burned and deserted.

Jeremiah 2:17
Have you not brought this on yourselves
by forsaking the LORD your God
when he led you in the way?

 

Jeremiah 33:3
‘Call to me… 

…and I will answer you.’

Leave a Reply

