Signs and Seasons, Days and Years

Home » Reflections » Call on His name

Call on His name

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 420 other followers

Follow Signs and Seasons, Days and Years on WordPress.com

Mar 31, 2015

ripples-in-water

It’s an unexpected thing – this blessing of running up against my own inadequacy to accomplish something – my inability to grasp it and piece it all together on my own. Inadequacy is certainly not something I usually strive for. But if as a result of running aground, I’m driven to lean on the Lord and to call on His name – then blessing is indeed what I receive as a result.

Psalm 142:3
When my spirit grows faint within me, it is you who know my way.

Psalm 91:14-16
“Because he loves me,” says the LORD, “I will rescue him; I will protect him, for he acknowledges my name. He will call upon me, and I will answer him; I will be with him in trouble, I will deliver him and honor him. With long life will I satisfy him and show him my salvation.”

Jeremiah 33:3
Call to me and I will answer you and tell you great and unsearchable things you do not know.’

Psalm 3:3-4
But you are a shield around me, O LORD;
you bestow glory on me and lift up my head.
To the LORD I cry aloud,
and he answers me from his holy hill.

1 Kings 18:36-38
At the time of sacrifice, the prophet Elijah stepped forward and prayed: “O LORD, God of Abraham, Isaac and Israel, let it be known today that you are God in Israel and that I am your servant and have done all these things at your command. Answer me, O LORD, answer me, so these people will know that you, O LORD, are God, and that you are turning their hearts back again.” Then the fire of the LORD fell and burned up the sacrifice, the wood, the stones and the soil, and also licked up the water in the trench.

Psalm 17:6-7
I call on you, O God, for you will answer me;
give ear to me and hear my prayer.
Show the wonder of your great love,
you who save by your right hand
those who take refuge in you from their foes.

1 Chronicles 5:20
God handed the Hagrites and all their allies over to them (to the tribes of Israel who were fighting them), because they cried out to him during the battle. He answered their prayers, because they trusted in him.

Psalm 20:6-7
Now I know that the LORD saves his anointed;
he answers him from his holy heaven
with the saving power of his right hand.
Some trust in chariots and some in horses,
but we trust in the name of the LORD our God.

1 Chronicles 21:26
David built an altar to the LORD there (at the site where the temple would soon be built) and sacrificed burnt offerings and fellowship offerings. He called on the LORD, and the LORD answered him with fire from heaven on the altar of burnt offering.

Jonah 2:2
“In my distress I called to the LORD,
and he answered me.
From the depths of the grave I called for help,
and you listened to my cry.

Philippians 4:6-7
Do not be anxious about anything, but in everything, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, present your requests to God. And the peace of God, which transcends all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus.

Zechariah 12:10
“And I will pour out on the house of David and the inhabitants of Jerusalem a spirit of grace and supplication.”

Isaiah 30:19-21
O people of Zion, who live in Jerusalem, you will weep no more. How gracious he will be when you cry for help! As soon as he hears, he will answer you. Although the Lord gives you the bread of adversity and the water of affliction, your teachers will be hidden no more; with your own eyes you will see them.Whether you turn to the right or to the left, your ears will hear a voice behind you, saying, “This is the way; walk in it.”

Leave a Reply

