Signs and Seasons, Days and Years

Home » Music » Awake my child, it’s here.

Awake my child, it’s here.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 420 other followers

Follow Signs and Seasons, Days and Years on WordPress.com

Mar 20, 2015

(first posted April 19, 2012)

My eyes flutter and begin to open.
At first I can’t see in the blinding brightness.
Oh! How long have I been sleeping?
I feel more well and whole than I have in a long time.

I raise my hand to my eyes…
And something seems new and different.
Yes, it’s all familiar but yet…
So different. So effortless.
My thoughts give the command,
And my hand is there, shading my eyes to let me see.
But to see what?
A deep richness of color and at the same time a dazzling brilliance of light.

Then a voice speaks. A confident, gentle voice.
A familiar voice, but yet this too seeming somehow new and different.
I’m not sure how I’m actually perceiving the words –
They’re just there, saying to me,

“Awake my child. It’s here.
The time you’ve so long awaited. Arise.”
I feel a strong hand take mine, and then I’m standing,
Looking into the most loving, gentle face I’ve ever seen,
Bathed in radiance and light.

“How is your hip feeling now?” he asks, with a smile and a twinkle in his eye.
“My hip…” and then my mind is flooded with memories, and I understand.
I can no longer stay on my feet – falling on my face before my precious Lord,
My heart filled with a joy deeper than I’ve ever known.

“My Jesus, my Savior, my Lord and my God!”
the sobbing and laughter intermingling
as the joy flows freely from the depths of my heart.
“Come,” He says, “We have things to do. Follow Me.”

Leave a Reply

