Signs and Seasons, Days and Years

Home » Reflections » He goes on ahead of them, and his sheep follow him

He goes on ahead of them, and his sheep follow him

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 420 other followers

Follow Signs and Seasons, Days and Years on WordPress.com

Mar 5, 2015

ripples-in-water

John 10:1-4
“I tell you the truth, the man who does not enter the sheep pen by the gate, but climbs in by some other way, is a thief and a robber. The man who enters by the gate is the shepherd of his sheep. The watchman opens the gate for him, and the sheep listen to his voice. He calls his own sheep by name and leads them out. When he has brought out all his own, he goes on ahead of them, and his sheep follow him because they know his voice.”

He leads them out.
He goes on ahead of them, and his sheep follow him.

I think of this verse every time I take the dogs out for a walk. When we step through the gate of the backyard to begin the journey, the dogs remind me of an important detail. Though they would very much like to dart out ahead of me, it goes much better if I insist on taking the lead, and letting them follow. I’m the one, after all, who knows what direction we’re going to go.

Whenever we go through this process, the important detail I’m reminded of, is that exactly the same thing is true in my relationship with the Lord Jesus. He’s the Shepherd. I’m the sheep. And for things to go well, it’s important that I wait on Him and let Him lead. Because truly, He’s the only one who knows the right path; who sees the dangers I need to avoid; and who knows exactly where we’re going.

Leave a Reply

