Signs and Seasons, Days and Years

Home » Israel » And what has He promised to His people? What has He decreed?

And what has He promised to His people? What has He decreed?

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 420 other followers

Follow Signs and Seasons, Days and Years on WordPress.com

Feb 10, 2015

ripples-in-water

Again and again through His prophets, beginning as far back as the words of Moses in the book of Deuteronomy to the brand-new, not quite yet established nation of Israel, the Lord foretold that His people would rebel against Him, that they would be exiled for their unbelief, but that in the end He would bring about full restoration. Here’s just one of the many expressions of this promise; this one from the prophet Jeremiah –

Jeremiah 32:36-41
“This is what the LORD, the God of Israel, says: I will surely gather them from all the lands where I banish them in my furious anger and great wrath; I will bring them back to this place and let them live in safety. They will be my people, and I will be their God. I will give them singleness of heart and action, so that they will always fear me for their own good and the good of their children after them. I will make an everlasting covenant with them: I will never stop doing good to them, and I will inspire them to fear me, so that they will never turn away from me. I will rejoice in doing them good and will assuredly plant them in this land with all my heart and soul.”

For us, for present-day believers whose hearts belong to the Holy One of Israel – there is no denying the reality and validity of these words spoken again and again through God’s prophets down through the centuries, and that He intends to do exactly as He promised. Our part needs to be to stand up and stand firm, participating through our prayers in our Father’s accomplishment of these things –

Psalm 122:6-9
Pray for the peace of Jerusalem
“May those who love you be secure.
May there be peace within your walls
and security within your citadels.”
For the sake of my brothers and friends,
I will say, “Peace be within you.”
For the sake of the house of the LORD our God,
I will seek your prosperity.

Leave a Reply

