Signs and Seasons, Days and Years

Home » Israel » They have devoured Jacob and destroyed his homeland; but I will bring Israel back to his own pasture

They have devoured Jacob and destroyed his homeland; but I will bring Israel back to his own pasture

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 420 other followers

Follow Signs and Seasons, Days and Years on WordPress.com

June 16, 2014

ripples-in-water

Key words: Torah naveho
נוהו  nāwēhû – his habitation; pasture; estate; settlement

I woke up this morning with the unknown phrase “Torah naveho” in my mind. The words didn’t mean anything to me except just to recognize “Torah” as Hebrew for the Old Testament Scriptures – so I looked up the other word in the Hebrew Old Testament, and the search led me to two meaningful passages. The Lord was clearly saying something in this. There’s no way that just on my own this genuine Hebrew word could have just popped into my head.

Here are the Scriptures the Lord led me to. I can’t say for sure, but my sense is that I’m to take these as particularly significant for right now – not just for sometime off in the future – that even now, as those who don’t acknowledge the God of Israel continue to make their plans to prevent His people from ever being at home in their own land, the Lord too is working, orchestrating things that will bring these verses to fulfillment. My sense is that I’m to take this as the focus of my prayers for Israel – asking for these things to be fulfilled:

Pour out your wrath on the nations
that do not acknowledge you,
on the peoples who do not call on your name.
For they have devoured Jacob
and destroyed his homeland.
Psalm 79:6-7, Jeremiah 10:25

I will bring Israel back to his own pasture
and he will graze on Carmel and Bashan;
his appetite will be satisfied
on the hills of Ephraim and Gilead.
In those days, at that time,”
declares the LORD,
“search will be made for Israel’s guilt,
but there will be none,
and for the sins of Judah,
but none will be found,
for I will forgive the remnant I spare.
Jeremiah 50:19-20

Leave a Reply

