Signs and Seasons, Days and Years

Home » Reflections » Mar 22, 2014

Mar 22, 2014

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 420 other followers

Follow Signs and Seasons, Days and Years on WordPress.com

As the deer pants for streams of water, 
so my soul pants for you, O God.
My soul thirsts for God, for the living God. 
Psalm 42:1-2

Deep calls to deep in the roar of your waterfalls;
all your waves and breakers have swept over me.
By day the LORD directs his love, at night his song is with me—
a prayer to the God of my life. 
Psalm 42:7-8

Something from deep down in the depths of my soul calls out to that which is too deep for me to comprehend; to the depths of who you are, Lord God Almighty, God of heaven and earth, my Creator and Redeemer; the only one who truly knows me, but yet you choose to look past the corruption of my heart and love me, to truly, honestly, love me.

deep calls to deep

Denise: Your words and heart enrich my soul. Lovely to hear a brother speak words I also hear in my would… and too lethargic & brain foggy today, to study, so God’s incredible Word comes to me via you! Thank you.

Deryl, Mar 23: Allan, thanks for the scripture. I didn’t know that the phrase “deep calls to deep” was in the bible. I had heard similar words in a song that says, “deep cries out to deep,” and pondered their meaning as I do now reading it in the bible. What does that expression mean to you?

Allan, Mar 23: Hi Deryl – the interpretation that makes it meaningful to me is that “something deep in my spirit is calling out to the spirit of the living God”. It’s not the only possible interpretation, but is the one I can relate to. I’ve had a couple of interesting days in the last several weeks where for some reason I was praying most of the day, just drawn into it even though I was also busy with other things, as if in my spirit there was an awareness of something going on that needed to be confronted by God’s power. Sometimes the specific need is clearer than other times, like when the need is for me to stand against temptation or confusion that the enemy wants to put on me.

For other perspectives, if you type “the roar of your waterfalls” into Google and browse the related photos that come up, you’ll find a number of blog posts that have been written contemplating the meaning of “deep calls to deep.” This photo came from one of these, at http://everydayfaith-lyndi.blogspot.com/2011_06_01_archive.html

Leave a Reply

