Signs and Seasons, Days and Years

Home » Reflections » Feb 17, 2014

Feb 17, 2014

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 420 other followers

Follow Signs and Seasons, Days and Years on WordPress.com

ripples-in-water

When I swim, I can’t keep going without breathing. And I can’t breathe in without first breathing out. I must freely let go of what I have before I can take in what I need.

This could be intimidating. There I am blowing out the last of my air, knowing that in a moment I’ll need another breath, and that the water I’m immersed in is no good for breathing.

So why isn’t it intimidating? Because I have full confidence that when I turn my head, the air I need will be there for me.

Where does this confidence come from? From continual practice; from constant repetition. This is what I’ve seen and experienced. This is what I know. So in this I’m able to place my trust.

May my faith in God have this same solid foundation, knowing from continual practice and experience that He is there; recognizing His voice; knowing that I can stake my life on His faithfulness.

The man who enters by the gate is the shepherd of his sheep. The watchman opens the gate for him, and the sheep listen to his voice. He calls his own sheep by name and leads them out. When he has brought out all his own, he goes on ahead of them, and his sheep follow him because they know his voice.
John 10:2-4

Leave a Reply

